FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES

JANUARY 6, 2020 7:00 PM CAMP ORCHARD HILL Lake View Terrace

Supervisor Fred Dymond led the Pledge of Allegiance.

There was no public comment on agenda items prior to the meeting.

- 1. Mr. Dymond made a motion, seconded by Mr. Williams, to appoint Mr. Williams as temporary Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 2. Mr. Williams made a motion, seconded by Ms. McDermott to appoint Richard A. Melvin as temporary Secretary. The motion carried unanimously.
- 3. Mr. Williams made a motion, seconded by Ms. McDermott, to nominate Mr. Dymond as Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 4. Mr. Dymond made a motion, seconded by Ms. McDermott, to appoint Mr. Williams as Vice-Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Dymond made a motion, seconded by Mr. Williams, to approve the following motions and to recognize the following appointments as a group (numbers 5 through 31.) The motion carried unanimously.

- 5. **Motion** to appoint Richard A. Melvin as Secretary/Treasurer at an hourly rate of \$18.67 for a 30-hour workweek plus \$40.00 per meeting attended, seven paid holidays and three paid personal days.
- 6. **Motion** to appoint Richard A. Melvin as the Zoning Officer at an annual salary of \$3500.00, plus twenty percent of zoning permit fees, to be paid on a monthly basis and Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as Alternate Zoning Officer at a rate of \$69.00 per hour.
- 7. **Motion** to appoint Osbert Patton as Sewage Enforcement Officer, and Jim Gaidula, David Garvey, and Josef Reese as Alternate Sewage Enforcement Officers and to pass **Resolution** # **01 2020**, establishing fees, wages, and procedures to be used in connection with the administration of Act 537.
- 8. **Motion** to appoint Art Owen Jr. as Roadmaster.

9. Recognition of Road Department wages as set by the 2020 Budget retroactive to January 1, 2020:

Roadmaster - \$23.28 per hour, 40 hour work week with overtime as needed. **Equipment Operator** - \$18.95 per hour, 40 hour work week with overtime as needed. **Laborer** - \$12.00 per hour, hired as needed.

- 10. Recognition of paid holidays for full time Road Department as follows: New Years Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, Good Friday, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day.
- 11. Recognition of full time Road Department additional benefits for 2020: Two weeks paid vacation, three paid personal days, five paid sick days, health and vision insurance, clothing allowance.
- 12. **Motion** to authorize the Treasurers Bond in the amount of \$400,000.00.
- 13. Recognition of Brett Slocum as Franklin Township Tax Collector to be compensated at 5% of taxes collected.
- 14. **Motion** to appoint the following Solicitors: Vito DeLuca (Supervisors \$4,000.00 per year plus \$100.00 per hour for extraordinary matters pre-approved by the Supervisors), Eric N. Dingle (Planning Commission \$95.00/hour.)
- 15. **Motion** to appoint Trumbower and Associates as Franklin Township's Engineering Consultant and Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as the alternate engineering consultant.
- 16. **Motion** to appoint Richard Mooney to serve as Chairman of the Vacancy Board.
- 17. **Motion** to appoint Sherry Emershaw as Planning Commission member for a four year term expiring in January 2024. Recognition of the remaining members as follows: Richard Mooney and Scott Latoski (term expires January 2021), Pat Perry (term expires January 2023), and Frank Hilstolsky (term expires January 2022.)
- 18. **Motion** to appoint Dale Newman as Zoning Board member for a three year term expiring January 2023. Recognition of Zoning Board members Fred Risch (term expires January 2022), and Joseph Senchak (term expires January 2021.)
- 19. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **02 2020** which names FNCB and PLGIT as the Franklin Township depositories for 2020.
- 20. **Motion** to adopt the current IRS rate for mileage reimbursement as announced and updated.

- 21. **Motion** to name Berkheimer Associates, Inc. as collector of Earned Income Tax, and Local Services Tax.
- 22. **Motion** to appoint Lisa Blazure as Secretary of the Planning Commission at a salary of \$1200.00 per year, paid on a monthly basis, plus \$40.00 per meeting attended.
- 23. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **03-2020** Secretary Authorization to release operating disbursements retroactive to January 1, 2020.
- 24. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **04-2020** Fixing property tax rate for 2020 at 0.6350 Mills retroactive to January 1, 2020.
- 25. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **05-2020** Fixing township taxes for 2020 retroactive to January 1, 2020.
- 26. **Motion to pass Resolution #06-2020** Appointment of an Independent Auditor.
- 27. **Motion** to authorize PSATS Annual Convention attendance, to authorize reimbursement for all reasonable per diem expenses, and to appoint a voting delegate.
- 28. **Motion** to appoint Ted Dymond as representative and Richard A. Melvin as alternate to Back Mountain Community Partnership.
- 29. **Motion** to confirm Back Mountain Regional Emergency Management Agency officers for 2020 as required by the Intergovernmental Agreement between member municipalities.
- 30. **Motion** to appoint Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as PA UCC inspection and enforcement.
- 31. **Motion** to appoint Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as township Flood Plain Manager at a rate of \$65.00 per hour and Property Maintenance services at a rate of \$60.00 per hour.
- 32. Recognition of Recreation Board members as follows: Jim Payne.
- 33. Recognition of township auditors Josh Hilstolsky (term ends January 2026) and John Hilstolsky (term ends January 2022.)

The Reorganization Meeting was adjourned on motion by Mr. Dymond, seconded by Mr. Williams. The January Regular Meeting of the Board of Supervisors was convened.

Richard A. Melvin Secretary/ Treasurer