FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES JANUARY 3, 2023 6:00 PM CAMP ORCHARD HILL

Supervisor Eric Williams led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Meeting was open to public comment agenda items. There was no public comment.

- 1. Mr. Williams made a motion, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage, to appoint Mr. Owen as temporary Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 2. Mr. Williams made a motion, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage to appoint Richard A. Melvin as temporary Secretary. The motion carried unanimously.
- 3. Mr. Owen made a motion, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage, to nominate Mr. Williams as Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 4. Mr. Williams made a motion, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage, to appoint Mr. Owen as Vice-Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
 - Mr. Williams made a motion, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage, to approve the following motions and to recognize the following appointments as a group (numbers 5 through 8.) Mr. Owen abstained on Item #8. Otherwise, the motions carried unanimously.
- 5. **Motion** to appoint Richard A. Melvin as Secretary/Treasurer at an hourly rate of \$20.14 for a 30-hour workweek plus \$40.00 per meeting attended, seven paid holidays and three paid personal days, vision insurance
- 6. **Motion** to appoint Richard A. Melvin as Zoning Officer at an annual salary of \$3500.00, plus twenty percent of zoning permit fees, to be paid on a monthly basis and Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as Alternate Zoning Officer at a rate of \$69.00 per hour.
- 7. **Motion** to appoint Osbert Patton as Sewage Enforcement Officer, and David Garvey, and Josef Reese as Alternate Sewage Enforcement Officers and to pass **Resolution # 01 2023**, establishing fees, wages, and procedures to be used in connection with the administration of Act 537.
- 8. **Motion** to appoint Art Owen Jr. as Roadmaster.

Mr. Williams made a motion, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage, to approve the following motions and to recognize the following appointments as a group (numbers 9 through 34.) The motions carried unanimously.

9. Recognition of Road Department wages as set by the 2023 Budget retroactive to January 1, 2023:

Roadmaster - \$29.73 per hour, 40 hour work week with overtime as needed. **Equipment Operator** - \$21.06 per hour, 40 hour work week with overtime as needed. **Laborer** - \$15.00 per hour, hired as needed.

- 10. Recognition of paid holidays for full time Road Department as follows: New Years Day, Good Friday, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day.
- 11. Recognition of full time Road Department additional benefits for 2023: Two weeks paid vacation, three paid personal days, five paid sick days, health and vision insurance, clothing allowance.
- 12. **Motion** to authorize the Treasurers Bond in the amount of \$1,000,000.00.
- 13. Recognition of Brett Slocum as Franklin Township Tax Collector to be compensated at 5% of taxes collected.
- 14. **Motion** to appoint the following Solicitors: Vito DeLuca (Supervisors \$4,000.00 per year plus \$100.00 per hour for extraordinary matters pre-approved by the Supervisors), Eric N. Dingle (Planning Commission \$95.00/hour.)
- 15. **Motion** to appoint Trumbower and Associates as Franklin Township's Engineering Consultant and Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as the alternate engineering consultant.
- 16. **Motion** to appoint Richard Mooney to serve as Chairman of the Vacancy Board.
- 17. **Motion** to appoint Pat Perry as Planning Commission member for a four year term expiring in January 2027. Recognition of the remaining members as follows: Michael Handley and Sherry Emershaw (term expires January 2024), Frank Hilstolski (term expires January 2026), and Scott Latoski (term expires January 2025.)
- 18. **Motion** to appoint Dale Newman as Zoning Board member for a three year term expiring January 2026. Recognition of Zoning Board member Joseph Senchak (term expires January 2024),
- 19. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **02 2023** which names FNCB and PLGIT as the Franklin Township depositories for 2023.
- 20. **Motion** to adopt the current IRS rate for mileage reimbursement as announced and updated.

- 21. **Motion** to name Berkheimer Associates, Inc. as collector of Earned Income Tax, and Local Services Tax.
- 22. **Motion** to appoint Lisa Blazure as Secretary of the Planning Commission at a salary of \$1200.00 per year, paid on a monthly basis, plus \$40.00 per meeting attended.
- 23. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **03-2023** Secretary Authorization to release operating disbursements retroactive to January 1, 2023.
- 24. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **04-2023** Fixing property tax rate for 2023 at 0.6350 Mills retroactive to January 1, 2023.
- 25. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **05-2023** Fixing township taxes for 2023 retroactive to January 1, 2023.
- 26. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** #06-2023 Appointing an independent auditor to perform an audit of the 2022 township financial records.
- 27. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** #07-2023 To implement Act 57 of 2022 Property Tax Penalty Waiver Provisions.
- 28. **Motion** to authorize PSATS Annual Convention attendance, to authorize reimbursement for all reasonable per diem expenses, and to appoint a voting delegate.
- 29. **Motion** to appoint Art Owen Jr. as representative and Richard A. Melvin as alternate to Back Mountain Community Partnership.
- 30. **Motion** to confirm Back Mountain Regional Emergency Management Agency officers for 2023 as required by the Intergovernmental Agreement between member municipalities.
- 31. **Motion** to appoint Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as PA UCC inspection and enforcement.
- 32. **Motion** to appoint Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as township Flood Plain Manager at a rate of \$65.00 per hour and Property Maintenance services at a rate of \$60.00 per hour.
- 33. Recognition of Recreation Board members as follows: Jim Payne.
- 34. Recognition of township auditors Josh Hilstolsky (term ends January 2026) and John Hilstolsky (term ends January 2028.)
 - The Reorganization Meeting was adjourned on motion by Mr. Williams. The January Regular Meeting of the Board of Supervisors was convened.