FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES JANUARY 4, 2016 6:00 PM FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP FIRE HALL

Supervisor Fred Dymond led the Pledge of Allegiance.

- 1. Mr. Dymond made a motion, seconded by Mr. Williams, to appoint Mr. Miller as temporary Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 2. Mr. Dymond made a motion, seconded by Mr. Williams to appoint Richard A. Melvin as temporary Secretary. The motion carried unanimously.
- 3. Mr. Miller made a motion, seconded by Mr. Williams, to nominate Mr. Dymond as Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 4. Mr. Williams made a motion, seconded by Mr. Dymond, to appoint Mr. Miller as Vice-Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Williams made a motion, seconded by Mr. Dymond, to approve the following motions and to recognize the following appointments as a group (numbers 5 through 32). The motion carried unanimously.

- 5. **Motion** to appoint Richard A. Melvin as Secretary/Treasurer at an hourly rate of \$15.75 for a 30-hour workweek plus \$30.00 per meeting attended and five paid personal days.
- 6. **Motion** to appoint Richard A. Melvin as the Zoning Officer at an annual salary of \$3500.00, plus twenty percent of zoning permit fees, to be paid on a monthly basis and Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as Alternate Zoning Officer at a rate of \$60.00 per hour.
- Motion to appoint Osbert Patton as Sewage Enforcement Officer, and Donald Carey, Jim Gaidula, and Josef Reese as Alternate Sewage Enforcement Officers and to pass Resolution # 01 2016, establishing fees, wages, and procedures to be used in connection with the administration of Act 537.
- 8. **Motion** to appoint Art Owen Jr. as Roadmaster.
- 9. Recognition of Road Department wages as set by the 2016 Budget retroactive to January 1, 2016:

Roadmaster - \$19.89 per hour, 40 hour work week with overtime as needed. **Equipment Operator** - \$16.00 per hour, 40 hour work week with overtime as needed. **Laborer** - \$12.00 per hour, hired as needed.

- 10. Recognition of paid holidays for full time Road Department as follows: New Years Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, Good Friday, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day.
- 11. Recognition of full time Road Department additional benefits for 2016: Two weeks paid vacation, three paid personal days, five paid sick days, health and vision insurance.
- 12. **Motion** to authorize the Treasurers Bond in the amount of \$ 400,000.00.
- 13. Recognition of Brett Slocum as Franklin Township Tax Collector to be compensated at 5% of taxes collected.
- 14. **Motion** to appoint the following Solicitors: Vito DeLuca (Supervisors \$4,000.00 per year plus \$100.00 per hour for extraordinary matters pre-approved by the Supervisors), Eric N. Dingle (Planning Commission \$95.00/hour), Charles D. McCormick (Zoning Hearing Board \$85.00/hour).
- 15. **Motion** to appoint Trumbower and Associates as Franklin Township's Engineering Consultant and Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as the alternate engineering consultant.
- 16. **Motion** to appoint George Kovalick to serve as Chairman of the Vacancy Board.
- 17. **Motion** to appoint Sherry Emershaw as Planning Commission member for a four year term expiring in January 2020. Recognition of the remaining members as follows: Frank Hilstolsky (term expires January 2018), Richard Mooney and Scott Latoski (terms expire January 2017), and Pat Perry (term expires January 2019)
- 18. **Motion** to appoint Fred Risch as a Zoning Hearing Board member for a three year term expiring January 2019. Recognition of the remaining members as follows: Jerry McDonald (term expires January 2018), John Smith as alternate (term expires January 2017).
- 19. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **02 2016** which names Landmark Community Bank and PLGIT as the Franklin Township depositories for 2016.
- 20. **Motion** to reappoint Maureen Oremus and LuAnn Brace as auditors for a one year term expiring in January 2017.
- 21. **Motion** to adopt the current IRS rate for mileage reimbursement as announced and updated.
- 22. **Motion** to name Berkheimer Associates, Inc. as collector of Earned Income Tax, Local Services Tax.

- 23. **Motion** to appoint Joseph R. Alicene & Co. to perform the 2015 audit of Franklin Township at a fee of \$3,000.00.
- 24. **Motion** to appoint Lisa Blazure as Secretary of the Planning Commission at a salary of \$1200.00 per year, paid on a monthly basis, plus \$30.00 per meeting attended.
- 25. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **03-2016** Secretary Authorization to release operating disbursements retroactive to January 1, 2016.
- 26. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **04-2016** Fixing property tax rate for 2016 at 0.6350 Mills retroactive to January 1, 2016.
- 27. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **05-2016** Fixing township taxes for 2016 retroactive to January 1, 2016.
- 28. **Motion** to authorize PSATS Annual Convention attendance, to authorize reimbursement for all reasonable per diem expenses, and to appoint a voting delegate.
- 29. **Motion** to appoint representative and alternate to Back Mountain Community Partnership.
- 30. **Motion** to confirm Back Mountain Regional Emergency Management Agency officers for 2016 as required by the Intergovernmental Agreement between member municipalities.
- 31. **Motion** to appoint Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as PA UCC inspection and enforcement.
- 32. **Motion** to appoint Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as township Flood Plain Manager at a rate of \$65.00 per hour and Property Maintenance services at a rate of \$60.00 per hour.
- 33. Recognition of Recreation Board members as follows: Jim Payne, Jeff Thomas, Davida Roberts, and William Arnold.

A motion was made by Mr. Dymond, seconded by Mr. Miller to adjourn the Reorganization Meeting and to convene the January Regular Meeting of the Board of Supervisors. The motion carried unanimously.

Richard A. Melvin, Secretary/ Treasurer