FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES JANUARY 2, 2024 6:00 PM CAMP ORCHARD HILL

Supervisor Eric Williams led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Meeting was open to public comment on agenda items. There was no public comment.

- 1. Mr. Williams made a motion, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage, to appoint Mr. Owen as temporary Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 2. Mr. Owen made a motion, seconded by Mr. Williams to appoint Richard A. Melvin as temporary Secretary. The motion carried unanimously.
- 3. Mr. Owen made a motion, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage, to nominate Mr. Williams as Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 4. Mr. Williams made a motion, seconded by Mr. Owen, to appoint Mr. Pitcavage as Vice-Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 5. **Motion** was made by Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage to appoint Richard A. Melvin as Secretary/Treasurer at an hourly rate of \$21.39 for a 30-hour workweek plus \$40.00 per meeting attended, two weeks paid vacation, seven paid holidays, three paid personal days, five sick days, dental and vision insurance. The motion carried unanimously.
- 6. **Motion** was made by Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage to appoint Richard A. Melvin as Zoning Officer at an annual salary of \$3500.00, plus twenty percent of zoning permit fees, to be paid on a semi-annual basis and Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as Alternate Zoning Officer at a rate of \$69.00 per hour. The motion carried unanimously.
- 7. **Motion** was made by Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage to appoint Osbert Patton as Sewage Enforcement Officer, and David Garvey, and Josef Reese as Alternate Sewage Enforcement Officers and to pass **Resolution** # **01 2024**, establishing fees, wages, and procedures to be used in connection with the administration of Act 537. The motion carried unanimously.
- 8. **Motion** was made by Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage to appoint Art Owen Jr. as Roadmaster. The motion carried. Mr. Owen abstained.

9. Recognition of Road Department wages as set by the 2024 Budget retroactive to January 1, 2024:

Roadmaster - \$29.73 per hour, 40 hour work week with overtime as needed. **Equipment Operator** - \$22.31 per hour, 40 hour work week with overtime as needed. **Laborer** - \$15.00 per hour, hired as needed.

Motion was made by Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage. The motion carried. Mr. Owen abstained.

- 10. Recognition of paid holidays for full time Road Department as follows: New Years Day, Good Friday, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day.
 - **Motion** was made by Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage. The motion carried. Mr. Owen abstained.
- 11. Recognition of full time Road Department additional benefits for 2024: Two weeks paid vacation, three paid personal days, five paid sick days, health, dental and vision insurance, clothing allowance.
 - **Motion** was made by Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage. The motion carried. Mr. Owen abstained.
- 12. **Motion** was made by Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage to authorize the Treasurers Bond in the amount of \$1,000,000.00. The motion carried unanimously.
- 13. Recognition of Brett Slocum as Franklin Township Tax Collector to be compensated at 5% of taxes collected. **Motion** was made by Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage. The motion carried unanimously.
- 14. **Motion** was made by Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage to appoint the following Solicitors: Vito DeLuca (Supervisors \$6,500.00 per year plus \$100.00 per hour for extraordinary matters pre-approved by the Supervisors), Eric N. Dingle (Planning Commission \$95.00/hour.) The motion carried unanimously.
- 15. **Motion** to appoint Trumbower and Associates as Franklin Township's Engineering Consultant and Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as the alternate engineering consultant. The motion was tabled for further discussion.
- 16. **Motion** was made by Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage to appoint Richard Mooney to serve as Chairman of the Vacancy Board. The motion carried unanimously.
- 17. **Motion** was made by Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Owen to appoint Sherry Emershaw and Mike Handley as Planning Commission members for a four year term expiring in January 2028. Recognition of the remaining members as follows: Frank Hilstolski (term expires January 2026), Pat Perry (term expires January 2027) and Scott Latoski (term expires January 2025.) The motion carried unanimously.

18. **Motion** was made by Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage to appoint Joe Senchak as Zoning Board member for a three year term expiring January 2027. Recognition of Zoning Board member Dale Newman (term expires January 2026.) The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Williams made a motion, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage, to approve the following motions and to recognize the following appointments as a group (numbers 19 through 33.) The motions carried unanimously.

- 19. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **02 2024** which names FNCB and PLGIT as the Franklin Township depositories for 2024.
- 20. **Motion** to adopt the current IRS rate for mileage reimbursement as announced and updated.
- 21. **Motion** to name Berkheimer Associates, Inc. as collector of Earned Income Tax, and Local Services Tax.
- 22. **Motion** to appoint Lisa Blazure as Secretary of the Planning Commission at a salary of \$1200.00 per year, paid on a monthly basis, plus \$40.00 per meeting attended.
- 23. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **03-2024** Secretary Authorization to release operating disbursements retroactive to January 1, 2024.
- 24. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **04-2024** Fixing property tax rate for 2024 at 0.6350 Mills retroactive to January 1, 2024.
- 25. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **05-2024** Fixing township taxes for 2024 retroactive to January 1, 2024.
- 26. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** #06-2024 Appointing an independent auditor to perform an audit of the 2023 township financial records.
- 27. **Motion** to authorize PSATS Annual Convention attendance, to authorize reimbursement for all reasonable per diem expenses, and to appoint a voting delegate.
- 28. **Motion** to appoint Art Owen Jr. as representative and Richard A. Melvin as alternate to Back Mountain Community Partnership.

- 29. **Motion** to affirm Franklin Township's participation in the Back Mountain Regional Emergency Management Agency for 2024 and to re-appoint Jonathon Skripka as the Franklin Township Emergency Management Coordinator to the agency.
- 30. **Motion** to appoint Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as PA UCC inspection and enforcement.
- 31. **Motion** to appoint Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as township Flood Plain Manager at a rate of \$65.00 per hour and Property Maintenance services at a rate of \$60.00 per hour.
- 32. Recognition of Recreation Board members as follows: Jim Payne.
- 33. Recognition of township auditors Josh Hilstolsky (term ends January 2026), John Hilstolsky (term ends January 2028.) and Leo Shannon (term ends January 2030.)

The Reorganization Meeting was adjourned on motion by Mr. Williams. The January Regular Meeting of the Board of Supervisors was convened.